Skip To Main Content
WMA students earn 48 awards from College Board

Taking an AP Exam is hard. Earning an award from the College Board is even more difficult.

Students from Wilbraham & Monson Academy, however, made it look easy as the Academy won 48 awards based on the school’s performance on the 2023 AP Exams, administered by the College Board.

Topping the group were the 18 students who received AP Scholars with Distinction honors. Those students, who were recognized at School Meeting Sept. 25, scored a 3 or higher on five or more of the exams while maintaining a 3.5 average. The group included three members of the Class of 2024: Arielle Chechile, Han Do and Sally Geoghegan.

Also, Marisa Cyboron ’24 won an award from the College Board's National Hispanic Recognition Program.


From Arielle: “Receiving a College Board award was super exciting because it truly made me realize that all of my effort and hard work paid off.”

From Han: “I am especially thankful for the (guidance) of my WMA teachers, at both the Honors and AP level. Aside from transferring knowledge, my teachers also equipped me with the powerful tools of critical thinking and academic resilience. Faculty (members) at WMA have special ways of keeping me engaged in the lesson, which had major contributions to my success in studying for the exams.” 

From Sally: “WMA has helped me academically through connecting me to a network of supportive adults. My AP teachers were immensely helpful in preparing for my exams, and all my teachers have helped me find and utilize opportunities to further my education and career goals.”

From Marisa: “I think the variety of classes that WMA offers is really enriching and offers a great opportunity to learn and grow in a variety of fields. The teachers are also always available to help students and genuinely care about us beyond the classroom.” 

Below is a list of all WMA students who received awards from the College Board:

AP Scholar with Distinction (granted to students who received a score of at least 3 or higher on at least five AP exams, with an average exam score of at least 3.5): Julie Besse ’23, Arielle Chechile ’24, Han Do ’24, Margaret Gately ’23, Sally Geoghegan ’24, Ayana Gonzalez ’23, Brady Gouin ’23, Rilee Harris ’23, Jackson Healy ’23, Hannah Jamal ’23, Tate Laczkowski ’23, Yi Lyu ’23, Carl Plichta ’23, David Prickett ’23, Shuoxi Qi ’23, Maddie Stoltz ’23, Zihan Wu ’23, Yuzuki Yamaoka ’23.

AP Scholar with Honors (granted to students who received an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams): Ava Aguiar ’23, Stephnie Essien ’24, Hui Huang ’23, Aja Mercer ’23, Tianze Xiong ’23, Hanser Yoon ’24.

AP Scholar (granted to students who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams): Xuanyi Chen ’24, Jiseong Choi ’23, Marisa Cyboron ’24, Callie Dunbar ’24, Harold Gay ’23, Madeleine Hong ’23, Arya Kouzehkanani ’24, Seungmin Lee ’24, Giorgi Mumladze ’23, Rohan Puri ’23, Iva Radevic ’23, Nolan Stratton ’23, Zhongwang Wang ’24, Jie Lei Xue ’24, Guo Yin ’23.

AP Capstone Diploma (granted to students who earned scores of 3 or higher in AP Seminar and AP Research, and on four additional AP Exams of their choosing): Arielle Chechile ’24, Brady Gouin ’23, Rilee Harris ’23, Jackson Healy ’23.

AP Seminar & Research Certificate (granted to students who earned scores of 3 or higher in both AP Seminar and AP Research): Xuanyi Chen ’24, Marisa Cyboron ’24, Michael Dorunda ’24, Callie Dunbar ’24, Giorgi Mumladze ’23, Nolan Stratton ’23.

More News Stories