Wilbraham & Monson has opened the Athenaeum, a 5,500-square-foot space located between Smith Hall and Alumni Memorial Chapel, and it is connected to Gill Memorial Library. The Athenaeum has been dedicated as the Griffin Athenaeum, in memory of former Board of Trustees member William A. Griffin '68W.
The Athenaeum - which doubles as our library - was built to accommodate the need for intentional community space, academic collaborative space and the beginning of a campus reorganization that satisfies several needs of our Campus Master Plan.
Gill Memorial Hall
With its rich history, Gill Memorial Hall serves as an extension of the Athenaeum as well as classroom space and community functions. The space includes two large conference tables for meetings.
Gill Memorial Hall was named after Benjamin Gill, who taught at the Academy from 1872-1892. It housed the Academy's library from 1960 through the early 2020s.
Alumni Memorial Chapel houses the Academy's all-school meeting space. It was designed in the Gothic Revival style in the 1860s and dedicated in 1870. Its construction was interrupted by the Civil War.
The chapel was said to be part of the Underground Railroad at around the same time. When the Chapel was first built it was not technically part of the Academy’s campus and was simply called “The stone church.” The Chapel was used by the Academy and the town of Wilbraham. In the mid-1930s, the Church was falling into disrepair. Ownership was turned over to the Academy by the Methodist Society,and the Academy then funded a complete renovation.