Athletes of the Month

October 2019

Girls' Nominees

Grace Dineen, Field Hockey

Natsumi Suzuki, Volleyball

Theresa Kervick, Soccer

Youbin Kim, Cross Country

The Girls' Athlete of the Month is Natsumi Suzuki '20

Natsumi is an extremely determined athlete who never gives up no matter the score of the game. She has an extraordinary instinct to know how to be in the right position at the right time. She executes superb passes and generates an offense from the first contact. Natsumi is the reason why we have been able to keep our matches so close, Her ability to serve aces and to read blocks won us the game against Suffield, Natsumi's positive attitude, love of the game and respect for her coaches and teammates has been an inspiration for the entire team this season.

Boys' Nominees

Devin Austin, Water Polo

Niko Baltazar, Soccer

Tianze Xiong, Cross Country

Aidan Held, Football

The Boys' Athlete of the Month is Aidan Held '21

Aidan had an excellent month of October for the Varsity Football team. He is an impact player in every phase of the game and he hardly comes off the field for the Titans. In four games, Aidan led the team with 27 tackles, which included five sacks and nine tackles for loss. He also accumulated four QB pressures and blocked an extra point kick. Offensively, he recorded six catches and one touchdown, while handling virtually all of the kickoff and extra-point kicking duties. Beyond the stats, Aidan is a tremendous athlete to coach and is an extremely unselfish teammate.

Team MVPs

Team and Individual Honors


Athlete of the Week

Dec. 7 - 15

Girls' Nominees 

Julia Pelletier - Winter Track

Betelihem Stevens - Skiing

Rhaymi Porter - Basketball

Rilee Harris - Swimming

The Girls' Athlete of the Week is Rhaymi Porter

Rhaymi has started the season determined to show that she has improved her overall game and mindset. Rhaymi, in being challenged by her coaches to find that mentality to become dominant, has shown glimpses of that through our 2-3 start. Rhay is averaging 21.8 points, 16.2 rebounds, 3.8 blocks, and 2.6 steals, while shooting 57 percent from the field. Although our team did not win the Kingswood Oxford Invitational Tournament for the third straight year, Rhaymi and her squad brought home third place, and she was named to the KIT All-Tournament Team. A great honor after playing very well in this tournament.   

Boys' Nominees 

Junyi Lu - Riflery

Kyle Filipowski - Basketball

Blake Stewart - Winter Track

Tyler Winn - Swimming

Giovanni Biondo - Wrestling

The Boys' Athlete of the Week is Giovanni Biondo 

GIovanni has had a great start to the season. In the wrestling room, Giovanni is one of the hardest working athletes and never backs down from a challenge. In competitions, he is off to a 7-1 start. Gio went 3-1 and took third at Hopkins tournament, and since then has gone 4-0 against Hotchkiss, Hamden Hall, Williston, and Eagle Hill. The competition with the wrestlers from other schools has been intense and he has risen to the occasion time and time again to spearhead the team's efforts. 


Nov. 4 - 9

Girls - Yusi "Christine" Mo, Cross Country

Boys - Niko Baltazar, Soccer


Oct. 28 - Nov. 2

Girls - Theresa Kervick, Soccer

Boys - Kyle Yamagishi-Rodstein


Oct. 21 - 26

Girls - Najla Cecunjanin, Volleyball

Boys - Giovanni Biondo, Cross Country


Oct. 14 - 19

Boys - Enrique Rosado, football

Girls - Kylie Bignell, field hockey


Oct. 7 - 12

Boys - Brady Gouin, Cross Country

Girls - Emma Curley, Soccer


Sept. 30 - Oct. 5

Girls - Jenna Makkiya, Soccer

Boys - Kyle Dube, Soccer


Sept. 23 - 28

Girls - Kylie Kane, Field Hockey  

Boys - Egor Tokarskiy, Water Polo


Sept. 11 - 21

Girls - Claire Casey, Volleyball

Boys - Conor Murphy, Football

The annual Trustees Cup is the most coveted athletic team award at the Academy. The award takes into account a team’s success on the field, grade point average, team spirit and community service.

  • 2018-19 - Boys' Track
  • 2017-18 - Riflery
  • 2016-17 - Girls' Basketball
  • 2015-16 - Softball
  • 2014-15 - Baseball
  • 2013-14 - Softball
  • 2012-13 - Boys' Lacrosse
  • 2011-12 - Girls' Swimming
  • 2010-11 - Girls' Volleyball
  • 2009-10 - Girls' Lacrosse
  • 2008-09 - Girls' Soccer
Dr. George E. Rogers Scholar Athlete Award

In 1966 the Monson Academy faculty established the George E. Rogers Award to honor a member of the graduating class for scholarship and participation and sportsmanship in athletics. The members of the faculty have recognized the following students as having those qualities indicated in the award.

  • 2019 - Ania Axas
  • 2018 - Wenjun Chang
  • 2017 - Emma Kindblom
  • 2016 - Julian Alexis
  • 2015 - Margaret Harrington
  • 2014 - Jackson FrenchRobitaille
  • 2013 - Phillip Antonacci
  • 2012 - Michael Mendes
  • 2011 - Jeremy Gilfor
  • 2010 – Adrianne T. Hanson
  • 2009 – Russell Dinkins
  • 2008 – Brigid M. Jurgens
  • 2007 – Matthew D. Pentkowski
  • 2006 – Olivia C. Clement
  • 2005 – Alexander Ely
  • 2004 – Stacie Brzoska
  • 2003 – Anthony Choquette
  • 2002 – Kathryne Scyocurka
  • 2001 – Jennifer Reid
Phil Shaw Award

Phil Shaw joined the Wilbraham faculty in 1934 and served well as a teacher, Chairman of the Science Department, varsity soccer and track coach, and Athletic Director until his retirement in 1969. His portrait hangs in an honored place in our Athletic Center Board Room. Mr. Shaw dedicated his life to developing character in young people. He believed in healthy competition and a high degree of sportsmanship. This award is presented by the faculty to the male and female students in the junior or senior class who have shown hard work, perseverance, unselfishness, and a spirit of cooperation in athletics.

  • 2019 - Alana Perkins; Idan Tretout
  • 2018 - Kayla Mokwuah; Andrew Nagle
  • 2017 - Katelyn Cronin; Alexander Claudio
  • 2016 - Sydney Liptak; Wenyen Gabriel
  • 2015 - Molly Socha; Evan Roy
  • 2014 - Megan Pehoviak; Olexandr "Sasha" Oliinyk
  • 2013 - Carly Cronin; Joe Thibault
  • 2012 - Marissa McDermott; Ryan McLarney
  • 2011 - Chloe Snyder; Derrick Barnagian
  • 2010 – Michaela A. Rollings; Adam J. Ginsberg
  • 2009 – Chelby J. Wakefield; Aaron P. Haas
  • 2008 – Rosalyn C. Chesky; Joseph T. Salomone
  • 2007 – Kristin M. Coderre; Gregory J. Balicki
  • 2006 – Laura E. Coderre; Jacob R. Eddy, David J. Kreps
  • 2005 – Katelyn Stolpinski; Benjamin Primo
  • 2004 – Marisa Barone; Colin Cook
  • 2003 – Stacie Brzoska; Jeffrey Adams
  • 2002 – Angelique Kelley; Sherod Harris
  • 2001 – Lauren Pinkston; Charles Bridge

Coaches Awards