No post to display.

International Relations Association wins 2 awards at Cornell event

International Relations Association wins 2 awards at Cornell event

Wilbraham & Monson Academy’s history of international relations reaches back more than a century.

During a school year handcuffed by COVID-19, not even a world crisis could stop one of the Academy’s richest traditions.

Led by Jack Perenick ’21, the student-run Wilbraham & Monson Academy International Relations Association earned awards at all three events it attended.

After receiving honors at online competitions hosted by Yale University and Georgetown University, WMAIRA capped its season by winning a pair of awards at the Cornell Model United Nations Conference in April.

Jack won an honorable mention award representing U.S. Sen. Kyrsten Sinema, D-Arizona, at the 2021 Democratic National Convention, and Madeleine Soukup’s ’22 performance as a member of the Pittsburgh Chapter of Asha for Education landed her an honorable mention certificate as well.


Jack on how the WMAIRA performed for 2020-21: “This year the WMAIRA delegation was recognized at all three conferences we attended and took home a (recent) record number of awards for WMA. As president of WMAIRA this year, it was incredible to see all of our delegates engage with issues of massive importance and precedence in the world today during our weekly meetings and at all of the conferences we attended. I am so thankful to Mr. (Michael) Dziura for helping us get through this challenging year with Model UN and even improve our performance at each conference.”

Madeleine on winning an award at the Cornell Model UN: “My committee's goal was to restructure and support the nonprofit committee Asha, supporting education for children in India. To be recognized among hundreds of other outstanding delegates feels amazing and very rewarding. This committee has also offered me further insight into potential career paths. The concept of being a lawyer for nonprofit committees has greatly intrigued me since serving on this committee.”