Commencement 2020


Virtual Commencement Ceremony: May 23, 2020


Meet the Speakers

Brian P. Easler

Mr. Easler, concluding his sixth year as Head of School, will give the Valedictory. He has also served 14 years as our Dean of Students.

Julia Puppolo '20

Julia, a day student from Springfield, Mass., has been chosen as one of our Student Commencement Speakers. She has attended WMA since Grade 9 and will attend the College of the Holy Cross this fall.

Hao 'Harrison' Pan '20

Harrison, a boarding student from Beijing, China, is one of two Student Commencement Speakers. He has been a WMA student since Grade 8, and he will attend Johns Hopkins University.

From Brian Easler ...

We know that there is no substitution for the traditional WMA Commencement, but we also know that no ceremony, no matter how lavish, can ever truly communicate the depth of love, respect and admiration we have for our graduates. We hope that this Virtual Celebration marks this milestone for all of you, and we look forward to that day in the future when we can truly celebrate the Class of 2020 as they deserve. Until that time, we miss you, we wish you well and we will look forward to seeing you all again soon.


Meet the Class of 2020

John Adams

Sahana Anand

Tripp Barkett

Joshua Besse


- Class of 2020 Prize List - 

A full list of Class of 2020 award winners has been posted here. Non-senior award winners will be notified and honored at a later date.

Phil Shaw Awards
Xin “Julie” Xiong '20
and William Crocker III '20

Trustees Cup
Boys’ Varsity Basketball

Awarded by Don Nicholson ’79, Director of Athletics


Head of School Award
Hao “Harrison” Pan '20

Awarded by Brian Easler,
Head of School

Harriet Jones Nelson Trust
Pheeraphat "Pete" Trairatanobhas '20

Pieria Prize
Margaret Kuhn '20
Awarded by Erik Kindblom,
 Dean of Academics


Dr. George E. Rogers Scholar Athlete Award
Jonathan Adams '20

Berube Prize
Emily Fafard '20

Awarded by Elizabeth Squindo, Dean of Students

Stephen D. Luckraft Memorial Award
William Crocker III '20

Gift of the Class of 1965
Moonsu “Jackson” Kang '20

Awarded by Walter Swanson,
Dean of Faculty


Kyle E. Webb Award
Betelihem Stevens '20

Billy Lak Prize
Edward Barkett III '20

Awarded by Kevin Kane,
Dean of Studies

Markell and Monson Class of 1898 Award/Owen David Dow Memorial Award
Grace-marie Gouin '20

Dr. Joseph P. Cebula Memorial Award
Kizuki Koyasu '20

Awarded by Don Kelly,
Faculty Marshal 


Frank Chapin Cushman Memorial Award
Julia Puppolo '20

Cora Pease Chandler Award
Liam Garrison '20

Awarded by Brian Easler,
Head of School

Induction of Cum Laude Society

Induction of Cum Laude – Don Kelly, President of WMA Chapter of the Cum Laude Society

Elected with the Class of 2019
Hao “Harrison” Pan ’20

Class of 2020:
Xiaojing “Emily” Du ’20
Emily Fafard ’20
Emily Fallon ’20
Liam Garrison ’20
Grace-marie Gouin’20
Ragene Hong ’20
Julia Puppolo ’20
Pheeraphat “Pete” Trairatanobhas ’20
Xin “Julie” Xiong ’20
Muwei “Katharine” Xu ’20
Kyle Yamagishi-Rodstein ’20
Yinqi “Sherry” Yang ’20
Eungi “David” Youn ’20
Tianyu “Joe” Yu ’20


Looking back ...

Click here to watch the video.